Do GLP-1 Medications Cause Hair Loss?
What the Zepbound, Wegovy, Ozempic and Mounjaro labels report about hair loss, with rates vs placebo, the sex split and what published studies say.

PrescribedRX is a telehealth platform; prescriptions are written by licensed clinicians and filled by licensed partner pharmacies.
Short answer: Does tirzepatide cause hair loss? Hair loss is listed as an adverse reaction for both weight-loss brands, and our tirzepatide side effects guide covers the other reactions. The Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information reports hair loss in 4% to 5% of patients vs 1% on placebo, and the Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information reports 3% at 2.4 mg and 6% at 7.2 mg vs 1% on placebo (Zepbound prescribing information; Wegovy prescribing information). Both say hair loss reactions were associated with weight reduction.
This guide sets out exactly what each brand’s prescribing information reports, what published studies say, and when to talk to a licensed provider. It does not give medical advice.
Does tirzepatide cause hair loss?
Hair loss is listed as an adverse reaction in the Zepbound prescribing information. Zepbound is the tirzepatide brand prescribed for weight reduction. In its Table 1, which pools two trials in adults with obesity or overweight (Study 1 and Study 2), hair loss was reported in:
- 5% of patients on 5 mg
- 4% of patients on 10 mg
- 5% of patients on 15 mg
- 1% of patients on placebo
The prescribing information adds three details (Zepbound prescribing information, rev. 8/2026):
- It states: “Hair loss adverse reactions in ZEPBOUND-treated patients were associated with weight reduction.”
- Hair loss was reported more often in women than in men: 7.1% of female vs 0.5% of male patients on Zepbound, and 1.3% of female vs 0% of male patients on placebo.
- No Zepbound-treated patients, and one placebo-treated patient, stopped study treatment because of hair loss.
The Zepbound prescribing information lists the other reactions by dose in the same table.
Does semaglutide cause hair loss?
Hair loss is also listed in the Wegovy prescribing information. Wegovy is the semaglutide brand prescribed for weight reduction. It reports hair loss at two adult doses and in teenagers (Wegovy prescribing information, rev. 6/2026):
- 2.4 mg, adults (Table 3): 3% on Wegovy vs 1% on placebo. In a pool of studies 2, 3 and 4, the prescribing information gives 3.3% on Wegovy 2.4 mg (4% female, 0.9% male) vs 1% on placebo (2% female, 0 male).
- 7.2 mg, adults (Table 4): 5.8% on Wegovy 7.2 mg (8.4% female, 0.2% male), 3.3% on Wegovy 2.4 mg (5.4% female, 0 male) and 1.0% on placebo (1.5% female, 0 male).
- Ages 12 and older (Table 5): 4% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs no placebo-treated patients.
Like Zepbound, the Wegovy prescribing information states that hair loss reactions in Wegovy injection-treated patients “were associated with weight reduction.” In the 7.2 mg group, it reports that 1 hair loss event led to permanent treatment discontinuation, 1 led to a temporary interruption and 5 led to dose reduction, vs none of these actions in the 2.4 mg or placebo groups.
Our semaglutide side effects guide covers the rest of the Wegovy and Ozempic tables.
How do the figures compare?
| Prescribing information (revision) | Dose | Hair loss on drug | Placebo | Female vs male on drug |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zepbound, tirzepatide (8/2026) | 5 mg | 5% | 1% | 7.1% vs 0.5% (all doses pooled) |
| Zepbound, tirzepatide (8/2026) | 10 mg | 4% | 1% | Same pool |
| Zepbound, tirzepatide (8/2026) | 15 mg | 5% | 1% | Same pool |
| Wegovy, semaglutide (6/2026) | 2.4 mg | 3% (3.3% pooled) | 1% | 4% vs 0.9% |
| Wegovy, semaglutide (6/2026) | 7.2 mg | 6% (5.8% in the label text) | 1% | 8.4% vs 0.2% |
| Wegovy, semaglutide, ages 12+ (6/2026) | 2.4 mg | 4% | 0% | Not reported |
| Ozempic, semaglutide (6/2026) | Diabetes doses | Alopecia in postmarketing reports; no rate | Not applicable | Not reported |
| Mounjaro, tirzepatide (8/2026) | Diabetes doses | Alopecia in postmarketing reports; no rate | Not applicable | Not reported |
Sources: the Zepbound, Wegovy, Ozempic and Mounjaro prescribing information on DailyMed. The trials behind each table differ, so the rows are not a head-to-head comparison.
What do the Ozempic and Mounjaro labels say?
Ozempic (semaglutide) and Mounjaro (tirzepatide) are the type 2 diabetes brands. Their prescribing information does not list hair loss in the clinical trial tables. Both list “alopecia” under postmarketing experience, in the skin and subcutaneous tissue category (Ozempic prescribing information; Mounjaro prescribing information).
The Ozempic prescribing information explains what that section means: these reactions “are reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size,” so it is not always possible to reliably estimate how often they happen or to establish that the drug caused them.
Why does the prescribing information tie hair loss to weight loss?
The prescribing information states the association with weight reduction but do not explain the cause. The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) describes a type of excessive hair shedding, called telogen effluvium, that can follow a stressful event. Its list of such events includes having “lost 20 pounds or more” (AAD, hair shedding).
According to the AAD page:
- most people notice the shedding a few months after the stressful event
- as the body readjusts, the excessive shedding stops, and hair tends to regain its normal fullness within six to nine months
- if the stressor continues, shedding can last longer
The AAD page is about shedding after weight loss in general. It does not mention GLP-1 medications, and the prescribing information does not say whether hair loss on these drugs reverses.
What do published studies report?
A 2025 scoping review. Rojas Lopez and colleagues searched five databases through May 24, 2025, and found nine studies on GLP-1 medications and hair loss, including randomized trials, cohort studies and pharmacovigilance analyses. They reported that most studies lacked confirmation by a dermatologist, and only one described the pattern of hair loss, finding telogen effluvium and androgenetic alopecia most often. The authors wrote that “a causal relationship cannot be confirmed” (Rojas Lopez et al., Cureus, 2025).
A 2025 database study. A research letter in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, titled “Increased risk of telogen effluvium with tirzepatide compared to other weight loss medications,” reported a retrospective cohort analysis of the TriNetX health records database (Neubauer et al., JAAD, 2025). The letter has no published abstract, so only its title and design are given here.
Do these figures apply to compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide?
Not directly. Every figure above comes from the prescribing information for the branded products Zepbound, Wegovy, Ozempic and Mounjaro. Compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide do not have prescribing information of their own, so these trial figures do not describe them.
When should you talk to a doctor about hair loss?
Talk to a licensed provider if you notice hair loss or shedding while taking a GLP-1 medication. Both the Zepbound and Wegovy patient information say to talk to your healthcare provider about any side effect that bothers you or does not go away (Zepbound prescribing information; Wegovy prescribing information).
Your provider sets the dose. If tiredness is also an issue, our page on GLP-1 fatigue covers what the prescribing information reports.
What does PrescribedRX offer?
GLP-1 plans offered through PrescribedRX start with an online intake. A licensed provider decides whether it is appropriate for you and sets the dose. Compounded medications are prepared by licensed pharmacies and are not FDA-approved.
| Plan | Price as displayed |
|---|---|
| Compounded semaglutide, once weekly | 3 month plan $420 · $140/mo · Billed every 3 months. Cancel anytime. |
| Compounded tirzepatide, once weekly | 3 month plan $597 · $199/mo · Billed every 3 months. Cancel anytime. |
See all weight loss plans or our hair loss treatment options, and read what the finasteride prescribing information and trials report. To check eligibility, take the short quiz. Self-pay, no insurance, and availability varies by state.
Is GLP-1 hair loss permanent?
The Zepbound and Wegovy prescribing information does not say whether hair loss reverses. The AAD’s description of shedding after weight loss in general, summarized above, does not mention GLP-1 medications (AAD). Talk to a licensed provider about your own situation.
Sources
- DailyMed, National Library of Medicine. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection prescribing information (rev. 8/2026). dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
- DailyMed, National Library of Medicine. WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and tablets prescribing information (rev. 6/2026). dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
- DailyMed, National Library of Medicine. OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection prescribing information (rev. 6/2026). dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
- DailyMed, National Library of Medicine. MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) injection prescribing information (rev. 8/2026). dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
- American Academy of Dermatology. Do you have hair loss or hair shedding? aad.org. Accessed Oct 2026.
- Rojas Lopez RF, Lynett Barrera D, Amaya Muñoz MC, Saavedra Diaz MP. Alopecia as an emerging adverse effect associated with glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonists for weight loss: a scoping review. Cureus. 2025;17(8):e90021. PMC. Accessed Oct 2026.
- Neubauer Z, Ong MM, Singal A, Lipner SR. Increased risk of telogen effluvium with tirzepatide compared to other weight loss medications: a retrospective cohort TriNetX database study. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2025;93(6):1612-1614. PubMed. Accessed Oct 2026.
This article is for general information. It is not medical advice and it is not a recommendation for any particular treatment. Whether a treatment is appropriate for you is a decision for a licensed clinician who has reviewed your health history and current medications.
This article is for information only and is not medical advice. Treatment is prescribed solely at the discretion of a licensed provider following a clinical evaluation.



